CORPORATE LAW TEACHERS' ASSOCIATION

REPORT OF THE PRESIDENT FOR THE YEAR ENDING DECEMBER 2005

This Report covers the activities of the Corporate Law Teachers Association (CLTA) for the year ending December 2005.

Executive Committee of the CLTA in 2005

The CLTA constitution in clause 4(b) provides that the Executive Committee of the Association shall be comprised of a President, Secretary, Treasurer, the immediately preceding past President and four other members. Clause 6(d) provides that, in addition, the Executive Committee may co-opt up to three additional members to form part of the Executive Committee.

Based upon these provisions of the constitution, the Executive Committee of the CLTA for 2005 comprised:

- Jennifer Hill, Sydney Law School (President)
- Stephen Bottomley, ANU (Immediate Past President)
- Larelle Chapple, University of Queensland
- Paula Darvas, Monash University (Secretary and Treasurer)
- Jean du Plessis, Deakin University
- Laurie Factor, Curtin University of Technology
- Dimity Kingsford-Smith, University of New South Wales
- Vanessa Mitchell, Victoria University of Technology
- Christopher Symes, Flinders University
- Ian Ramsay, University of Melbourne

John Nelson of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries also participated in meetings of the Executive Committee during the year.

2005 CLTA conference

The 2005 CLTA annual conference was hosted by the Ross Parsons Centre of Commercial, Corporate and Taxation Law, University of Sydney on 6-8 February 2005. The theme of the conference was "Regulating Conflicts of Interest in Contemporary Corporate Law".

Keynote speakers at the 2005 CLTA Conference included:-

- Professor Jill Fisch, Alpin J. Professor of Law, Fordham University, New York, "Conflicts of Interest in Analyst and Brokers" (Commentator: Tony D'Aloisio, Managing Director and CEO, Australian Stock Exchange)
- Professor Charles Yablon, Cardozo Law School, "Executive Remuneration and the Market for CEOs"

 Helen Conway, Company Secretary and General Counsel, Caltex Australia Ltd, "Conflicts of Interest in the Boardroom" (Commentator: The Hon. Justice RP Austin)

The conference also included a special Panel Discussion on legal issues concerning James Hardie, which was organised by Peta Spender, ANU.

The conference attracted record attendance from both corporate law academics and practitioners in the area.

2006 CLTA conference

The 2006 CLTA annual conference is being hosted by the TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland in Brisbane on 5-7 February 2006. The theme of the conference is "The Pathology of Corporate Law". Keynote speakers at the conference are Professor Deborah A. DeMott, Duke Law School, and Professor Lynn Stout, UCLA.

Future CLTA conferences

The venue of the 2007 CLTA will be discussed and announced at the 2006 CLTA AGM and the meeting of the Executive Committee to be held at the Brisbane conference.

Membership of the Executive Committee for 2006

At the time of writing this report, the composition of the Committee for 2006 has still to determined. Could anyone who is interested in serving on the CLTA Executive, please contact me by email or speak to me at the Brisbane conference.

Activities and Initiatives in 2005

In the Annual Report for the year ending December 2004, a significant initiative was foreshadowed for 2005. This involved a major overhaul to the CLTA's website, so that in the future it could serve as a central point of dissemination for information about scholarship and activities of corporate law teachers relating to, for example, Teaching Innovation; Publications; Working Papers; Corporate Law events etc.

The CLTA worked on this project during 2005 with the help of the talented web designer, Matt Rees, and the new website was launched in September 2005. The CLTA's website can now be found at www.clta.edu.au. The new website was designed to position the CLTA as a key corporate law organisation representing the Asia Pacific region. For example, it contains useful links for corporate governance research, with particular focus on the Asia Pacific region (see http://www.clta.edu.au/linksofinterest.html). The website also enables corporate law

scholars to provide information about recent and forthcoming events at their universities and to post working papers and recent articles.

There has been a great response to the new website, with many scholars, both in Australia and internationally, joining the CLTA as new members, following the launch of the website.

Another initiative undertaken in 2005 was the revision and streamlining of the CLTA's guidelines on sponsorship. This work was undertaken by a subcommittee of the CLTA Executive, comprising Stephen Bottomley, Ian Ramsay and myself. The new guidelines on CLTA sponsorship can be found at http://www.clta.edu.au/docs/pdf/clta_sponsorship_guidelines.pdf.

Expressions of appreciation

There are a number of people and organisations I would like to thank.

Thank you to Dr John Nelson and to his organisation, Chartered Secretaries Australia Ltd, for their continuing support of the CLTA and sponsorship of the prize for the best paper presented at the annual conference. This support is greatly appreciated. The best paper prize has become a central feature of the CLTA conference and is important in fostering the CLTA's goal of encouraging young corporate law scholars. In 2006, the CLTA received a record number of papers submitted for consideration under the best paper prize.

I would also particularly like thank Thomson, which has become a major sponsoring partner of the CLTA in 2006, under the new sponsorship guidelines. Thomson has also generously agreed to sponsor the 2006 CLTA conference dinner. And thanks as well to our general sponsors, Lexis Nexis Butterworths Australia, CCH Australia and Austlii.

Thanks also go to Charles Rickett, Ross Grantham, Larelle Chapple, Jessica Mansour and the rest of the team at the TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland, who agreed to host the 2006 conference in Brisbane and have worked so hard in organising the conference. We all know how much effort goes into the organisation of a major event of this kind. Thank you from all the CLTA members.

Finally, I would like to extend my gratitude to all the members of the Executive Committee. It has been a great pleasure to be President of the CLTA over the last two years, with such a supportive and helpful Executive Committee.

Professor Jennifer Hill (President) Corporate Law Teachers Association January 2006