

HONORARY LIFE MEMBER



Emeritus Professor Harold Ford (on the right) receiving his award from Professor Ian Ramsay at the CLTA Conference

In February 2000 the CLTA conferred the award of First Honorary Life Member on Emeritus Professor H A J (Harold) Ford in recognition of his outstanding achievement as a scholar, educator and reformer.

Professor Ford was appointed to The University of Melbourne Law School in 1949 and became the fifth member of the School's full-time academic staff. In 1960 he was appointed Robert Garran Professor of Law in the Australian National University and was Foundation Dean of the Faculty of Law. He returned to The University of Melbourne in 1962 on appointment as Professor of Commercial Law. He was Dean from 1967-1973. He retired from The University of Melbourne in 1984. Professor Ford served in 1963-64 on the Manning Committee on Bills of Exchange. In 1974-1975 he was one of a small team which prepared the National Companies Bill. In 1976-1978 he chaired a Corporate Affairs/Stock Exchange Joint Working Party which recommended establishment of a central clearing house systems ultimately realised in the current CHESS system. From 1984-1990 he chaired the Companies and Securities Law Review Committee.

In 1994 Professor Ford was made a member of the Order of Australia for services to law.

Professor Ford was the sole author for the first four editions of the leading corporate book in Australia, Ford's Principles of Corporations Law, which is now in its 10th edition. He co-authors this book with Justice Robert Austin and Professor Ian Ramsay. He is also co-author of the leading book on trusts, *Principles of the Law of Trusts*.